Six Indigenous Communities and Sarawak Biodiversity Centre Seals Benefit Sharing Agreement

Bidayuh of Kampung Kiding

The Bidayuh Community of Kampung Kiding

Kelabit of Pa' Ukat

The Kelabit Community of Pa' Lungan

Lun Bawang of Long Kerebangan

The Lun Bawang Community of Long Kerebangan

Kelabit of Pa' Ukat

The Kelabit Community of Pa' Ukat

Lun Bawang of Long Telingan

The Lun Bawang Community of Long Telingan

Lun Bawang of Long Rusu

The Lun Bawang Community of Long Rusu

How Benefit Sharing Agreement (BSA) Benefits The Communities

The official signing of the Benefit Sharing Agreement between Sarawak Biodiversity Centre (SBC) and six indigenous communities presents new avenues for wealth generation through alternative socio-economic activities for the participating indigenous communities. In addition, this aligns with Sarawak Government’s vision to move beyond traditional industries and explore alternative economic growth resource through science that fully taps into Sarawak’s rich biological landscape.

The BSA presents three-fold benefits to the participating indigenous communities - recognition and respect to the communities’ rights to its biological resources and associated traditional knowledge (TK); ensures fair and equitable sharing of monetary and non-monetary benefits arising from the utilization of biological resources and associated TK; as well as promote the importance of biodiversity conservation.

Thank you for choosing LitSara®, a product that has its roots in indigenous communities' traditional knowledge and uses. An equitable portion of the proceeds from your purchase will be shared with the indigenous communities of Sarawak who have contributed to the development of LitSara® and towards their ongoing efforts to document and develop traditional knowledge, and conserve biodiversity that has served mankind of uses over time.

Contact Us

+60 82 610610
Sarawak Biodiversity Centre
KM20, Jalan Borneo Heights, Semengoh
93250, Kuching, Sarawak
Operating Hours:
Mondays - Fridays (except public holidays)
8.00am - 5.00pm